
Break Even Word Problems
Authored by Anthony Clark
Mathematics
9th Grade
CCSS covered
Used 6+ times

AI Actions
Add similar questions
Adjust reading levels
Convert to real-world scenario
Translate activity
More...
Content View
Student View
20 questions
Show all answers
1.
MULTIPLE CHOICE QUESTION
1 min • 1 pt
At a local ballpark a team charges $10 per ticket. The team must pay its players $4000. It costs the owners $6 for each souvenir they give away. How many tickets must be sold to break even.
1000 tickets
10,000 tickets
600 tickets
660 tickets
2.
MULTIPLE CHOICE QUESTION
1 min • 1 pt
Brian and Amy invest $2700 to start a hair cutting business. Each hair cut costs them $1.50 (supplies). They charge their customer $15 for each cut. Write the equation for cost and income.
Cost: y = 1.50x + 2700
Income: y = 15x
Cost: y = 150 + 2700
Income: y = 1.50x
Cost: y = 1.50x + 2700
Income: y = 15
Cost: y = 2700
Income: y = 15x + 1.50
Tags
CCSS.8.EE.C.8C
3.
MULTIPLE CHOICE QUESTION
1 min • 1 pt
Brian and Amy invest $2700 to start a hair cutting business. Each hair cut costs them $1.50 (supplies). They charge their customer $15 for each cut.
How many hair cuts until they breakeven?
200 hair cuts
22 hair cuts
2700 hair cuts
15
4.
MULTIPLE CHOICE QUESTION
1 min • 1 pt
At a local ballpark a team charges $10 per ticket. The team must pay its players $4000. It costs the owners $6 for each souvenir they give away.
How much profit will they make if they sell 2,230 tickets?
(income - cost = profit)
$2,230
$4,920
$1,000
$2, 920
5.
MULTIPLE CHOICE QUESTION
1 min • 1 pt
We are going to manufacture Whats-Its. The Whats-It machine costs $4000.It also costs $5 for materials and labor for each Whats-It. We are planning to sellour Whats-Its for $12 each. How many Whats-Its must we sell in order to breakeven?
571.42
572
570. 63
571
6.
MULTIPLE CHOICE QUESTION
1 min • 1 pt
We are going to manufacture Whats-Its. The Whats-It machine costs $4000.It also costs $5 for materials and labor for each Whats-It. We are planning to sellour Whats-Its for $12 each. How many Whats-Its must we sell in order to breakeven? What is the expression for revenue?
12x
4000x + 5x + 12x
12
12x + 5
Tags
CCSS.8.F.B.4
CCSS.HSF.LE.A.2
7.
MULTIPLE CHOICE QUESTION
1 min • 1 pt
At a local concert hall, the owner charges $7 per ticket. The owner must pay his band $1200. Every customer receives a brochure that costs the owner $2 for each person. Write an equation for cost and income
Cost: y = 2x + 1200
Income: y = 7x
Cost: y = 7x + 1200
Income: y = 2x
Cost: y = x + 1200
Income: y = 7
Cost: y = 2x + 7
Income: y = 1200x
Tags
CCSS.8.EE.C.8C
Access all questions and much more by creating a free account
Create resources
Host any resource
Get auto-graded reports

Continue with Google

Continue with Email

Continue with Classlink

Continue with Clever
or continue with

Microsoft
%20(1).png)
Apple
Others
Already have an account?