Wayground logo

Free Printable Worksheets

Font size

S
M
L
XL
Worksheets

Excel Functions Quiz

Total questions: 54

Worksheet time: 2hrs 54mins

Name
Class
Date
1.

To rotate cell contents, you use the Alignment tab in the Format Cells dialog box.

a)

True

b)

False

2.

Penina wants to insert markers into a sparkline chart. To do so, she can click on the following: Sparkline chart > Design > Line > Markers check box.

a)

True

b)

False

3.

To show formulas instead of values, click on the Formulas tab in the ribbon, then in the Formula Auditing group, click on the Show Formulas option.

a)

True

b)

False

4.

To move a worksheet, you can drag its sheet tab to the left or right.

a)

True

b)

False

5.

Niki wants to insert a Line sparkline in Excel. To do this, she can click on the cell she wants to insert a Sparkline, then select Insert, select Line Sparkline from the Sparklines group and then OK.

a)

True

b)

False

6.

To paste only a copied cell's formats, use the Paste Special command.

a)

True

b)

False

7.

Jose inserts the formula '=DATE(2000, 2, 2)' in cell A15. Upon pressing ENTER, 2/2/2000 will appear in A15.

a)

True

b)

False

8.

You can repeatedly paste an item from the Office Clipboard as many times as you like.

a)

True

b)

False

9.

Arrow keys can be used to move any chart element.

a)

True

b)

False

10.

Dean wants to insert five blank rows above a row. To do so, he can select the heading of the row above which he wants to insert the additional rows, hold Ctrl key, click the selected rows, and then click Insert on the pop-up menu.

a)

True

b)

False

11.

Decreasing a cell's indent moves its contents to the right one space.

a)

True

b)

False

12.

Bart needs to apply a sparkline style to a sparkline chart. To do so, he can click on the following: Sparkline chart > Design > Style (choose a style).

a)

True

b)

False

13.

Jack wants to insert a Win/Loss sparkline in Excel. To do this, he can click on the cell he wants to insert a Sparkline in, then click Apps tab, select Win/Loss Sparkline from the Sparklines group and then click OK.

a)

True

b)

False

14.

There is a limit of 35 changing cells in the Edit Scenario dialog box whose values can be modified in the Scenario Values dialog box.

a)

True

b)

False

15.

To edit placeholder text in a chart element, select the cell whose placeholder text you want to edit, on Ribbon, click Data > Data Validation > Data Validation > Input Message tab and edit the text in the box.

a)

True

b)

False

16.

Sala wants to unfreeze the first column of his worksheet. Which of the following series of clicks will help him do so?

a)

View tab > Windows group > Freeze Panes > Unfreeze Panes

b)

View tab > Windows group > Freeze Panes > Freeze Top Column > Arrange All

c)

View tab > Windows group > Freeze Panes > Unfreeze Panes> Arrange All

d)

View tab > Windows group > Freeze Panes > Freeze First Column > Unfreeze Panes

17.

Which of the following is true about deleting a worksheet row?

a)

After you delete a row, the rows below it shift down one row.

b)

To delete a row, you can select the row, then press the DELETE key on the keyboard.

c)

To delete a row, you can select the row, then use the Delete button in the Cells group.

d)

If you select a row and click the Delete list arrow, you can select Delete Sheet to delete the row.

18.

Which of the following is true about inserting cells in a worksheet?

a)

Excel automatically adjusts cell references to reflect new formula locations.

b)

You need to adjust cell references in all formulas that have moved.

c)

You cannot insert cells in a worksheet.

d)

Cells below the inserted cells are always moved downward.

19.

When you paste formula cells using the Paste button in the Clipboard group, which of the following is true?

a)

True

b)

False

20.

Which of the following is true when you delete a cell?

a)

When you delete cells using the Delete list arrow, you can choose which way to move adjacent cells.

b)

Row and column alignment will not be affected.

c)

You need to manually adjust cell references in surrounding formulas.

d)

You can use the Delete command on the Insert tab.

21.

For which of the following would you use the Paste list arrow on the Ribbon when pasting a copied cell?

a)

To erase the cell value from the clipboard.

b)

To paste the value's number formatting only.

c)

To paste all items on the clipboard.

d)

To compute the results of a function.

22.

To rotate cell contents to an exact value, you change its (a)   .

23.

Which of the following will you select as X in the following series of clicks to change the chart layout for lines or bars that you want to change: Chart > Chart Tools > Layout tab > X > Layout option for any lines or bars that you want to add or change?

a)

Axes

b)

Labels

c)

Analysis

d)

Background

24.

The score of students in a subject is inserted in B2 cell and the passing score for the subject is 60. Which of these functions will you insert in C2 cell to check if the student has passed or failed?

a)

=IF(B2>=60, "Pass", "Fail")

b)

=OR(B2>=60, "Pass", "Fail")

c)

=AND(B2>=60, "Pass", "Fail")

d)

=NOT(OR(B2>=60, "Pass", "Fail"))

25.

Which of the following is true when you copy and paste formulas using the fill handle?

a)

The Paste Options button lets you paste only specific elements of the copied selection.

b)

The AutoFill Options button lets you fill cells with specific elements of the copied cell.

c)

The formula is placed on the Office clipboard.

d)

You need to change the cell references to reflect the new formula location.

26.

Which of these will you do in step X in the series of clicks/selections to delete a vertical page break: View tab > Workbook View > Page Break Preview > X > Page layout tab > Page Setup > Breaks > Remove Page Break?

a)

Select the column to the left of the page break you want to delete.

b)

Select the column to the right of the page break you want to delete.

c)

Select the row above the page break you want to delete.

d)

Select the row below the page break you want to delete.

27.

Nisha wants to freeze all rows above row 4 in a worksheet she is working on to keep them visible while scrolling through the rest of the worksheet. Which of the following series of clicks will help her do so?

a)

Row 4 > View tab > Windows group > Freeze Panes > Freeze Top Row

b)

Row 3 > View tab > Windows group > Freeze Panes > Freeze Panes

c)

Row 4 > View tab > Windows group > Freeze Panes > Freeze Top Row > Arrange All

d)

Row 3 > View tab > Windows group > Freeze Panes > Freeze First Column > View Side by Side

28.

Which of the following will you select as X in the following series of clicks to lay the title over a chart: Chart Title box > Plus (+) sign > Arrow next to Chart title > X?

a)

Above Chart

b)

Over Chart

c)

Below Chart

d)

Centered Overlay

29.

Nathan wants TRUE to be elicited if either of the statements are true, and FALSE if both are true. Which of the following formula can he use to ensure that?

a)

=IFNA(...)

b)

=XOR(...)

c)

=IFERROR(...)

d)

=TRUE OR FALSE(...)

30.

Which chart is not an option in MS Excel?

a)

Pie chart

b)

Line chart

c)

Area chart

d)

Column chart

31.

Michelle finished a 5 kilometer run in 180th position. The organizers shared an Excel spreadsheet with names of all the participants and the time they took to complete the race. The top 15 finishers are listed in rows 2 to 16. Michelle wants to compare her time against theirs. How can she do so?

a)

Select row 17 and click View tab > Window group > Split.

b)

Select rows 2 to 16 and click View tab > Window group > Split.

c)

Select rows 2 to 16 and click View tab > Window group > New Window > Split.

d)

Select row 16 and click View tab > Window group > Split > Arrange All.

32.

Which of the following is true about moving cell contents?

a)

You can move cells using the Copy command.

b)

You cannot move cells from one worksheet to another.

c)

When you move cell contents, they remain in their original location.

d)

You can move cells using the drag-and-drop feature.

33.

Helga wants to reset page breaks in a worksheet to display only automatic page breaks. Which of these can she select and X in the series of clicks to do so: Worksheet > View tab > Workbook Views group > X > Page Layout tab > Page Setup group > Y > Reset All Page Breaks?

a)

X: Normal, Y: Print Area

b)

X: Page Layout, Y: Print Tiles

c)

X: Page Break Preview, Y: Breaks

d)

X: Custom Views, Y: Background

34.

To select nonadjacent cells or ranges on a worksheet, you can press and hold ______ while selecting each one.

a)

CTRL

b)

ALT

c)

SHIFT

d)

ESC

35.

Bertie wants to show data labels inside a text bubble shape. Which option can she click on after clicking on the arrow next to Data labels under Chart Elements?

a)

Best Fit

b)

Inside End

36.

Why is it necessary to use care when inserting worksheet cells?

a)

It might automatically change the functions you are using.

b)

It can change relative references to absolute references in formulas.

c)

You will have to manually correct cell references in formulas.

d)

It may disturb row or column alignment, which can affect worksheet accuracy.

37.

How can you distinguish between a manually added page break and an automatic page break in a worksheet?

a)

Automatic page breaks appear as dashed lines while manual page breaks appear as solid lines.

b)

Automatic page breaks appear as curved lines while manual page breaks appear as jagged lines.

c)

Automatic page breaks appear as dashed lines while manual page breaks appear as wavy lines.

d)

Automatic page breaks appear as zigzag lines while manual page breaks appear as solid lines.

38.

You've copied a cell containing formula to the rows below it, and the results in the copied cells are all zeros. To find the problem, what should you check for in your original formula?

a)

If it needs an absolute cell reference.

b)

If it needs a relative cell reference.

c)

If it needs landscape orientation.

d)

If it needs a function update.

39.

Which of the following should you select as X in the following series of clicks to change the chart type to a clustered column chart: Chart > Chart Tools > Design tab > Type group > Change Chart Type > All Charts > X > Clustered Column > OK?

a)

Pie

b)

Bar

c)

Line

d)

Column

40.

Which of the following is true about changing worksheet column width?

a)

In Normal view, the Column Width dialog box lets you set column width to an exact value in inches.

b)

In Normal view, the Column Width dialog box lets you set the exact number of characters that will fit in the column.

c)

When you drag the right column border in Normal view, a ScreenTip displays the exact width in inches.

d)

When you drag the right column border in Page Layout view, a ScreenTip displays the exact width in pixels.

41.

Your worksheet contains a price in cell A5, and many formulas refer to that price. How would you refer to that price in the formulas?

a)

A5

b)

$A$5

c)

$A5

d)

A$5

42.

To remove the Data Labels in Chart Elements, which of the following steps is correct?

a)

Uncheck the box beside Data Labels in Chart Elements.

b)

Click on Remove on the options on the right side of Data Labels.

c)

Click on Delete on the options on the right side of Data Labels.

d)

Click to select the Data Labels, then click on Edit and then Delete.

43.

To copy a cell's formatting to another cell, which of the following can you use?

a)

Format Cells dialog box

b)

Format Painter

c)

Quick Analysis Tool

d)

Format as Table

44.

Arla wants to use goal seek to answer "what if" questions in a file. To do this, she clicks the cell in the spreadsheet that she wants to change, then selects the "X" button from the Data tab and selects Goal seek... from the drop down menu. What is X in the procedure?

a)

What-if Analysis

b)

Data Validation

c)

Consolidate

d)

Relationships

45.

You need to add another product to your inventory worksheet, which shows product names in row A. Which of the following should you add?

a)

a row

b)

a column

c)

a button

d)

conditional formatting

46.

The basic unit of a worksheet into which you enter data in Excel is called a

a)

cell

b)

table

c)

box

d)

column

47.

SHORT CUT FOR CUT

a)

CTRL+C

b)

CTRL+V

c)

CTRL+D

d)

CTRL+X

48.

In Excel, all formulae must begin with ___________sign.

a)

#

b)

$

c)

=

d)

&

49.

Which of these icons will increase decimal places?

a)

A

b)

B

c)

C

d)

D

50.

A row is identified by which of the following?

a)

Number

b)

Letter

c)

Symbol

d)

None of the above

51.

In Excel, Columns are labelled as ___

a)

A, B, C, etc

b)

1,2,3 etc

c)

A1, A2, etc.

d)

$A$1, $A$2, etc.

52.

In Excel, Rows are labelled as ______

a)

A, B, C, etc

b)

1,2,3 etc

c)

A1, A2, etc.

d)

$A$1, $A$2, etc.

53.

What are your strengths and weakness?

4 lines
54.

Tell us something about yourself?

4 lines