Wayground logo

Free Printable Worksheets

Font size

S
M
L
XL
Worksheets

ManagementAccounting-121Questions

Total questions: 121

Worksheet time: 2hrs 45mins

Name
Class
Date
1.

What does the term 'overhead cost' refer to?

a)

Direct materials

b)

Indirect costs

c)

Fixed costs

d)

Variable costs

2.

Which of the following is NOT a component of prime cost?

a)

Direct materials

b)

Direct labor

c)

Manufacturing overhead

d)

All of the above

3.

Audit and Directors fees is an indirect cost taken under

a)

Administration o/h

b)

Factory o/h

c)

COP

d)

COS

4.

Carriage outwards is taken to

a)

Selling and Distribution o/h

b)

Factory o/h

c)

COP

d)

COS

5.

Factory cost is also known as

a)
Manufacturing cost
b)
Labor cost
c)
Operational cost
d)
Production cost
6.

Work in Progress means

a)
Tasks that are completed and ready for delivery.
b)
Items that are on hold and not being worked on.
c)
Finalized projects awaiting approval.
d)
Work in Progress refers to tasks or items that are currently being worked on and are not yet completed.
7.

Administrative overheads are added to the factory cost to get

a)
Net profit
b)
Variable costs
c)
Total cost of production
d)
Direct labor costs
8.

Opening stock of raw materials + Purchases – Closing stock of raw materials =

a)

Cost of goods manufactured

b)

Raw materials consumed

c)

Prime cost

d)

Total cost

9.

Which item is deducted while calculating cost of goods sold?

a)

Closing stock of raw material

b)

Closing stock of finished goods

c)

Opening stock of finished goods

d)

Selling overheads

10.

Which of the following is not a component of total cost?

a)

Direct wages

b)

Factory rent

c)

Interest on capital

d)

Advertisement expenses

11.

Profit-Volume ratio (P/V) equals:

a)

VC / Sales (Variable Cost / Sales)

b)

Sales / CM (Sales / Contribution Margin)

c)

CM / Sales (Contribution Margin / Sales)

d)

Sales / VC (Sales / Variable Cost)

12.

Which of the following is the accurate formula for Conversion Cost?

a)

Direct Material Cost+Direct Labour Cost

b)

Direct Labour Cost+Manufacturing Overhead Cost

c)

Direct Material Cost+Direct Labour Cost+Manufacturing Overhead Costs

d)

Direct Material Cost+Direct Labour Cost+Manufacturing Overhead Cost+Non Manufacturing Overhead Cost

13.

Prime cost is calculated as:

a)

Direct Material + Direct Labour + Direct Expense

b)

Direct Labour - Direct Expense

c)

Direct Expense + overheads

d)

Direct Cost + Indirect Cost

14.
Direct costs are those which
a)
can be accurately traced to a product
b)
are significant in the production process
c)
are incurred in a specific period
d)
include only purchase of materials
15.

Costs that remain the same in total regardless of changes in the activity level.

a)

Variable Cost

b)

Fixed Cost

c)

Relevant Cost

d)

Sunk Cost

16.

Are costs that vary in total directly and proportionately with changes in the activity level.

a)

Fixed Cost

b)

Variable Cost

c)

Mixed Cost

d)

Irrelevant Cost

17.

INDIRECT LABOR, INDIRECT MATERIALS, DEPRECIATION OF FACTORY EQUIPMENT AND THE LIKE ARE MANUFACTURING COSTS KNOWN AS

a)

SUPPLIES

b)

DIRECT MATERIALS

c)

PRIME COSTS

d)

FACTORY OVERHEAD

18.
Cost unit is calculated as
a)
Total Expense/Quantity
b)
Quantity/Total Cost
c)
Total Cost/Quantity
d)
Quantity/Total Expense
19.

What is the meaning of overtime?

a)

Idle time

b)

Unproductive time of employees for which they are still paid

c)

Any hours worked that exceed normally scheduled working hours

d)

A sum of money added to a person's wages as a reward for good performance

20.

Cost of Raw Material Used is $500,000 Beginning raw material is $50,000 and Ending raw material is $25,000. What is the cost of raw material purchased?

a)

$450,000.

b)

$525,000

c)

$475,000

d)

$550,000

21.

Which of the following is an example of a fixed cost?

a)

Raw materials used in production.

b)

Electricity cost for the factory.

c)

Rent for a factory building.

d)

Direct labor hours.

22.

Indirect costs are:

a)

Directly traceable to a cost object.

b)

Costs that cannot be easily traced to a specific cost object.

c)

Always variable costs.

d)

Always fixed costs.

23.

A company incurred the following costs during a production period:
Direct materials cost: $10,000
Direct labor cost: $8,000
Factory overhead cost: $5,000
Calculate the prime cost for the period.

a)

$10,000

b)

13,000

c)

18,000

d)

23,000

24.

What is the cost of goods manufactured if beginning work in process inventory is $50, total manufacturing cost is $345, and ending work in process inventory is $65?

a)

$330

b)

$250

c)

$280

d)

$400

25.

Marginal cost is _____ cost.

a)

Fixed

b)

Variable

c)

Semi-Variable

d)

Stepped

26.

Contribution is fixed cost + _____.

a)

sales

b)

variable

c)

profit

d)

margin of safety

27.

_____ is excess of actual sales over break even sales.

a)

Contribution

b)

Desired Sales

c)

Margin of Safety Sales

d)

Profit

28.

Profit is excess of _____ over fixed cost.

a)

Sales

b)

Variable Cost

c)

Contribution

d)

Loss

29.

_________ is the difference between actual sales and Break Even sales.

a)

Contribution

b)

Margins of Safety

c)

Profit Volume

d)

Profit

30.

Contribution is excess of sales over _____.

a)

Variable Cost

b)

Fixed Cost

c)

Profit

d)

Loss

31.

An increase in sales price of a product _______

a)

does not affect the break-even point

b)

lowers the net profit

c)

increases the break-even point

d)

lowers the break-even point

32.

Fixed cost per unit decreases when __________

a)

production volume increases

b)

production volume decreases

c)

variable cost per unit decreases

d)

prime cost per unit decreases

33.

A company has sales of Rs. 2,00,000; P/V Ratio is 20% and fixed cost is Rs. 15,000; the profit will be ______

a)

Rs. 40,000

b)

Rs. 35,000

c)

Rs. 25,000

d)

Rs. 20,000

34.

An increase in variable costs results in

a)

An increase in P/V Ratio

b)

Reduces contribution

c)

Increase in Profit

d)

None of the above

35.

When fixed cost is Rs.20,000 and P/V Ratio is 40%, the breakeven point will be

a)

75,000

b)

40,000

c)

20,000

d)

50,000

36.

if the total cost of 100 units is Rs. 5,000 and those of 101 units is Rs. 5,040 then increase of Rs. 40 in total cost is

a)

Marginal cost

b)

Prime cost

c)

Fixed cost

d)

None of the above

37.

P/V Ratio is an indicator of

a)

the measurement of rate at which goods and services are bought and sold

b)

the measurement of change in profit due to change in volume of sales

c)

the measurement of volume of profit to be earned

d)

None of the above

38.

Break Even Point refers to the point in which

a)

total cost is equal to fixed cost

b)

total cost is equal to total revenue

c)

total cost is equal to contribution

d)

total cost is equal to variable cost

39.

A high margin of safety indicates that

a)

over production

b)

business is dull

c)

over capitalisation

d)

business is going on well

40.

Marginal costing technique classifies cost into

a)

variable cost and fixed cost

b)

operation and Maintainance cost

c)

semi-variable cost

d)

standard and floating cost

41.

Marginal costing helps the management to

a)

Fix the price of products

b)

Take various decisions

c)

Calculate profit

d)

All the above

42.

which is not included in primecost?

a)

Raw materials

b)

Manager Salary

c)

Labour expenses

d)

Coal

43.

If PVR=40%, MOS=50%, Sales=Rs.6,00,000. Find Net profit.

a)

Rs 1,50,000

b)

Rs 1,00,000

c)

Rs.1,20,000

d)

Rs.1,60,000

44.

Formula to calculate contribution margin

a)

SALES – VARIABLE COSTS

b)

SALES – VARIABLE COSTS - FIXED COST

c)

SALES – PERIOD COSTS

d)

SALES – COGS

45.

Profit occure, when

a)

fixed cost > contribution margin

b)

fixed cost < contribution margin

c)

variable cost > contribution margin

d)

variable cost < contribution margin

46.

Information: Direct materials $15, direct labor $10, variable overhead $20, variable

selling and distribution cost $15, Total fixed cost $35, Sales $120

Calculate Variable Production Cost of Sales!

a)

$25

b)

$45

c)

$30

d)

$60

47.

Information: Direct materials $15, direct labor $10, variable overhead $20, variable

selling and distribution cost $15, Total fixed cost $35, Sales $120

Calculate Variable Cost of Sales!

a)

$25

b)

$45

c)

$30

d)

$60

48.

Information: Direct materials $15, direct labor $10, variable overhead $20, variable

selling and distribution cost $15, Total fixed cost $35, Sales $120

Calculate Contribution Margin!

a)

$25

b)

$45

c)

$30

d)

$60

49.

Information: Direct materials $15, direct labor $10, variable overhead $20, variable

selling and distribution cost $15, Total fixed cost $35, Sales $120

Calculate Profit!

a)

$25

b)

$45

c)

$30

d)

$60

50.

Information: Variable cost product $7, fixed cost $3, sell product $11.

Calculate contribution per unit!

a)

$1

b)

$8

c)

$4

d)

$7

51.

In marginal costing profitability of each product is measured on the basis of its

a)

Cost

b)

Profit

c)

Contribution

d)

None of the above

52.

Marginal cost is the ……….cost of producing an additional unit of output

a)

Variable

b)

Fixed

c)

Semi-variable

d)

All of the above

53.

In a product mix decision, which is the most important factor to consider in order to try to maximise profit?

a)

contribution per unit of the product

b)

product unit selling price

c)

variable cost per unit of the product

d)

contribution per unit of a scarce resource used to make the product

54.

In a make versus buy decision which of the following factors is not relevant?

a)

reliability of bought-in products

b)

reliability of supplier

c)

fixed production costs

d)

opportunity cost of alternative activities

55.

A box manufacturer discovers that while it costs Rs 6.25 per unit to make a component T the same is available in the market at Rs 5.75 each. There is reliability of regular supply. The breakdown of costs is materials is Rs 2.75 per unit, Labor is Rs 1.75 per unit, Other variable expenses is Rs 0.50 and depreciation and other fixed costs is Rs 1.25. Will you make or buy?

a)

Buy the product

b)

Make the product

c)

Drop the product

d)

None of the above

56.

While selecting optimum product mix

a)

Ranks are assigned on the basis of highest contribution per unit of key factor

b)

Ranks are assigned on the basis of lowest contribution per unit of key factor

c)

No ranks are assigned

d)

None of the above

57.

In a purely competitive market, 10,000 mobiles can be manufactured and sold for a certain profit. Profit targeted is Rs 2,00,000. The variable cost per mobile is Rs 100 and the total fixed costs are Rs 40,000. Find out unit selling price.

a)

Rs.124 per mobile

b)

Rs.1.24 per mobile

c)

Rs.1240 per mobile

d)

None of the above

58.

While making a pricing decision under Special price, if price is greater than marginal cost,

a)

Acceptance and rejection depends on product type

b)

Order should be rejected

c)

Order should be accepted

d)

None of the above

59.

While preparing Marginal cost and Contribution Statement, if any factor of production is key factor then ________ should be expressed in terms of per unit of Key factor.

a)

Profit

b)

Contribution

c)

Sales

d)

None of the above

60.

Margin of safety is?

a)

The number of units sold above the break even point

b)

Sales - variable costs

c)

Fixed costs / contribution per unit

61.

Telephone bill is an example of

a)

Fixed cost

b)

Stepped cost

c)

Variable cost

d)

Semi-variable cost

62.

Which of the following is a variable cost?

a)

Interest payments

b)

Raw materials costs

c)

Property taxes

d)

All of the above are variable costs

63.

The contribution margin per unit is equal to the?

a)

price of a good

b)

the difference between total revenue and total cost

c)

difference between price and average total cost

d)

difference between price and average variable cost

64.

Which are ways in which profit performance of a business can be improved?

a)

By increasing volume

b)

By increasing selling price

c)

By decreasing variable costs

d)

All of the above

65.

Which of the statement is true?

a)

Selling price-variable cost=contribution

b)

Contribution – fixed cost= profit

c)

Fixed cost + profit = contribution

d)

All of the above

66.

From the following information find out PVR

Variable cost per unit = Rs.15

Sales per unit = Rs.20

Fixed expenses = Rs.54,000

a)

40%

b)

25%

c)

75%

67.

From the following information find out sales at BEP

Variable cost per unit = Rs.15

Sales per unit = Rs.20

Fixed expenses = Rs.54,000

a)

2,70,000

b)

13,500

c)

2,16,000

68.

Calculate PV Ratio

Sales = Rs.1,00,000

Variable Cost = Rs.60,000

Fixed Cost = Rs.20,000

Net Profit = Rs.20,000

a)

80%

b)

60%

c)

40%

69.

Calculate BEP

Sales = Rs.1,00,000

Variable Cost = Rs.60,000

Fixed Cost = Rs.20,000

Net Profit = Rs.20,000

a)

50,000

b)

40,000

c)

80,000

70.

R Ltd. Sold goods for Rs.30,00,000 in a year. In that year the variable costs were Rs.6,00,000 and Fixed Cost is Rs.8,00,000. Find out break even sales

a)

16,00,000

b)

10,00,000

c)

24,00,000

71.

Calculate the BEP (Value) from the following

Variable cost - Rs.75,000

Profit - Rs.12,000

Sales - Rs.1,50,000

a)

63,000

b)

1,26,000

c)

75,000

72.

A company produces and sells a single product whose variable cost is $6 per unit.

Fixed costs have been absorbed over the normal level of activity of 200,000 units and have been calculated as $2 per unit.

The current selling price is $10 per unit.

How much profit is made under marginal costing if the company sells 250,000 units?

a)

$500,000

b)

$600,000

c)

$900,000

d)

$1,000,000

73.

How do you calculate the number of unit to make a target profit?

a)

Contribution - fixed costs

b)

Sales - fixed costs

c)

Fixed costs + target profit/ Contribution per unit

d)

Sales - variable costs

74.

When a limiting factor is present we base the decision on which products to make based on the product that gives the highest contribution?

a)

True

b)

False

75.

Sales price is £45 material is £12, labour is £8 and fixed production costs are £5 the contribution is?

a)

£33

b)

£20

c)

£25

76.

Budgeted sales are 12,000 units and the break even is 7,500 units what is the margin of safety as a %.

a)

62.5%

b)

60%

c)

37.5%

77.

What is the formula for calculating marginal cost?

a)

Change in Total Cost / Change in Quantity

b)

Change in Total Revenue / Change in Quantity

c)

Total Cost / Quantity

d)

Fixed Cost / Variable Cost

78.

What are the advantages of using marginal costing for decision making?

a)

It is not useful for pricing decisions

b)

It provides information on fixed costs only

c)

It provides information on the contribution margin of each product or service.

d)

It does not consider variable costs

79.

Provide an example of how marginal costing can be used to make pricing decisions.

a)

Calculating the contribution margin for each unit and setting the price based on the desired profit margin

b)

Setting the price based on the total cost of production

c)

Ignoring the variable costs when determining the price

d)

Using historical costing to set the price

80.

How does marginal costing help in determining the break-even point?

a)

By separating fixed and variable costs, allowing for a more accurate calculation of the point at which total revenue equals total costs.

b)

By including only fixed costs in the calculation

c)

By using historical data instead of current costs

d)

By ignoring variable costs altogether

81.

Explain the concept of variable cost in the context of marginal costing.

a)

Cost that varies with the level of production or sales

b)

Cost that is not affected by the level of production or sales

c)

Cost that is only incurred when production or sales reach a certain level

d)

Cost that remains constant regardless of production or sales

82.

What are the limitations of marginal costing?

a)

Suitable for long-term decision making

b)

Considers only fixed costs

c)

May lead to overpricing of products

d)

The limitations of marginal costing include: not suitable for long-term decision making, does not consider fixed costs, may lead to underpricing of products, and can be complex to implement.

83.

How does marginal costing assist in performance evaluation?

a)

By separating fixed and variable costs, allowing for better analysis of cost behavior and contribution margin.

b)

By focusing only on fixed costs

c)

By ignoring variable costs

d)

By including all costs in the analysis

84.

3. How is the break-even point calculated in multi-product analysis?

a)

Total fixed costs / Weighted average selling price per unit

b)

Total fixed costs / Weighted average variable cost per unit

c)

Total variable costs / Weighted average contribution margin per unit

d)

Total fixed costs / Weighted average contribution margin per unit

85.

5. What are the limitations of using marginal costing for multi-product analysis?

a)

Not suitable for accurate product profitability analysis

b)

Provides accurate product profitability analysis

c)

Does not consider fixed costs

d)

Suitable for multi-product analysis

86.

9. Discuss the role of relevant costs in decision-making for multi-product analysis.

a)

Relevant costs are only considered for long-term decisions

b)

Relevant costs have no impact on decision-making for multi-product analysis

c)

Relevant costs help in determining the profitability of each product and making informed decisions about production and pricing.

d)

Relevant costs are only useful for single-product analysis

87.

10. Provide an example of a real-life scenario where multi-product analysis using marginal costing can be applied.

a)

Service industry with only one type of service offered

b)

Manufacturing company producing multiple products with different variable costs

c)

Online retail store with various products and fixed costs

d)

Fast food restaurant selling different types of meals

88.

Which of the following statements are correct.


a. Prime cost is the total of direct wages and variable overheads.

b. Abnormal cost is uncontrollable.

c. Contract costing method is used in ship building.

d. Cost accounting is a techinique of managerial control.

a)

All statements are correct

b)

Statements A , C & D are correct

c)

Except statement 'C' is correct

d)

Only statements 'C' & 'D' are correct

89.

floor area may be used as a basis for the apportionment of-------

a)

rent and rate

b)

building insurance

c)

lighting

d)

all of these

90.

variable overhead----

a)

remains constant per unit

b)

remains varies per unit

c)

remains constant total cost

d)

remains varies total cost

91.

standing charges are also known as-----expenses

a)

variable

b)

semi-variable

c)

fixed

d)

semi-fixed

92.

can we plan, control and reduce cost with cost accounting

a)

yes

b)

no

c)

may be

d)

not sure

93.

The Information obtained from cost accounts is

a)

Total cost

b)

Per unit cost

c)

Total & Per unit Cost

d)

All of above

94.

Ascertainment of cost with the help of actual expenses incurred in the past termed as..

a)

Historical Costing

b)

Standard Costing

c)

Marginal Costing

d)

Operating costing

95.

Loss of material due to fire is treated as

a)

An overhead

b)

Direct expenses

c)

Normal Loss

d)

Abnormal Loss

96.

Variable cost_____________

a)

Decreases with increase in production

b)

fluctuates with fluctuation in the volume of production

c)

always remains fixed

d)

Increase with decrease in production

97.

an example of variable cost is______________

a)

Interest on capital

b)

Direct labour

c)

Depreciation

d)

Insurance

98.

What is the primary purpose of management accounting?

a)

Conducting market research and analysis

b)

Managing human resources within the organization

c)

Preparing financial statements for external stakeholders

d)

Internal decision-making and planning

99.

Discuss the role of management accounting in decision-making.

a)

Management accounting only provides irrelevant financial information

b)

Management accounting is only used for record-keeping purposes

c)

Management accounting has no role in decision-making

d)

Management accounting provides relevant financial information to help management make informed decisions.

100.

A business receives a contribution of £19 from a unit of output that is sold for £65. What is the variable cost of that unit?

a)

£19

b)

£84

c)

£46

d)

£65

101.

Which of the following is not likely to be included as a marginal cost of production?

a)

Rent

b)

Raw materials

c)

Packaging

d)

Royalties

102.

What is marginal cost if output rises from 10 units to 11 units and total cost rises from £4,000 to £4,500?

a)

£4,000

b)

1 unit

c)

£500

d)

£4,500

103.

Marginal revenue is ...

a)

the cost of selling one additional unit.

b)

the revenue from selling all of the new quantity of units.

c)

the revenue from selling one additional unit.

d)

the cost of selling all of the new quantity of units.

104.

The wages of the employees making tables in a factory is an example of a ...

a)

Fixed cost

b)

Variable cost

c)

Stepped cost

d)

Semi-variable cost

105.

The table tops used in making tables in a factory is an example of a ...

a)

Fixed cost

b)

Variable cost

c)

Stepped cost

d)

Semi-variable cost

106.

Factory rent is an example of a ...

a)

Fixed cost

b)

Variable cost

c)

Stepped cost

d)

Semi-variable cost

107.

If a second factory is required because production has increased, this is a ...

a)

Fixed cost

b)

Variable cost

c)

Stepped cost

d)

Semi-variable cost

108.

Costs which increase by a large amount all at once are

a)

Fixed costs

b)

Variable costs

c)

Stepped costs

d)

Semi-variable costs

109.

Costs which have a fixed part and a variable part are ...

a)

Fixed costs

b)

Variable costs

c)

Stepped costs

d)

Semi-variable costs

110.

A limitation of marginal costing is that:

a)

It ignores sales data

b)

It is hard to implement

c)

It ignores fixed costs in decision making

d)

It does not calculate variable costs

111.

Marginal costing is best suited for:

a)

Long-term capital investment

b)

Short-term decision making

c)

Preparing cash budgets

d)

Legal compliance

112.

A high PV ratio indicates:

a)

Low profitability

b)

High variable cost

c)

Better profitability

d)

High fixed cost

113.

At break-even point, the profit is:

a)

Maximum

b)

Minimum

c)

Zero

d)

Equal to contribution

114.

Marginal costing can help in:

a)

Calculating GDP

b)

Export pricing decisions

c)

Setting government taxes

d)

Determining market share

115.

In make-or-buy decisions, marginal costing helps by:

a)

Comparing fixed costs

b)

Ignoring material cost

c)

Considering relevant variable costs

d)

Increasing purchase cost

116.

In a special order decision, marginal costing:

a)

Considers only fixed cost

b)

Ignores contribution

c)

Accepts the order if it covers variable cost and contributes to fixed cost

d)

Rejects low-price orders

117.

In key factor analysis, marginal costing helps in:

a)

Planning capital

b)

Allocating resources to most profitable product

c)

Cutting employee wages

d)

Reducing machinery cost

118.

A company should shut down temporarily if:

a)

Sales are low but contribution is positive

b)

Contribution is negative

c)

Fixed cost is high

d)

Variable cost is constant

119.
When fixed cost increases, the break even point
a)
Decreases
b)
Increases
c)
remains constant
d)
marginally decreases
120.

Raw materials that can be physically and directly associated with the finished product during the manufacturing process are called:

a)

Direct Materials

b)

Indirect Materials

c)

Variable Cost

d)

Manufacturing Overhead

121.

The work of factory employees that can be physically and directly associated with converting raw materials into finished goods is called:

a)

Direct Labor

b)

Indirect Labor

c)

Variable Cost

d)

Manufacturing Overhead

Similar Resources on Wayground