WorksheetsPhotoshop Overview and Layers Notes
Total questions: 36
Worksheet time: 18mins
The Adobe _______ workspace includes the command menus at the top of your screen and a variety of
tools and panels for editing and adding elements to your image
Photoshop
InDesign
Illustrator
Photoshop works with ____________, digitized images
JPEG
PNG
bitmapped
You can also work with _____ graphics,
which are drawings made of smooth lines that retain their crispness when scaled
small
vector
large
You can create ________ artwork in Photoshop, and you can import images into the program
original
boring
someone elses
Photographs from a digital camera, commercial CDs of digital images, scans of photographs, transparencies, negatives, graphics, or other documents, captured video images, artwork created in drawing programs are sources you can import images from.
True
False
The __________ organizes commands in individual menus.
Main Menu
Options Bar
document window
Tools Panel
The __________ displays options for the currently selected tool and the workspace switcher menu.
Main Menu
Options Bar
document window
Tools Panel
The _________ displays the file you’re working on.
Main Menu
Options Bar
document window
Tools Panel
The ________ contains tools for creating and editing images, artwork, page elements, and so on.
Main Menu
Options Bar
document window
Tools Panel
Related tools are grouped together.
True
False
Panels help you monitor and modify your work.
True
False
You can separate, group, stack, and dock panels
into your preferred layout.
True
False
You can restore the default workspace at any time by
choosing Window > Workspace > Essentials > Reset Essentials
True
False
To open a file, choose File > Open and navigate to
the location of your image.Then select your file and click Open.
True
False
To close the image file, choose File > Close or click
the close button on the title bar of the window in
which the photograph appears.
True
False
To create a new Photoshop document: 1.
Select File > New
2. Type a filename and values for the width and height
of the canvas.
3. Type a value for Resolution.
4. Choose a setting for Color Mode.
5. Choose a setting for Background Contents.
6. Click OK.
True
False
To save a file for the first time, select File > Save As
from the main menu.
True
False
For an image to be used on the web, _______ pixels/inch is
suitable.
72
300 to 1200
For an image to be printed, use a higher
resolution, from __________ pixels/inch.
72
300 to 1200
You can choose to use a white, transparent, or specific
color background behind your image.
True
False
Photoshop _______ are like sheets of stacked paper.
panels
swatches
layers
tools
You move a layer to position its content, like sliding a sheet of paper in a stack.
True
False
You can also change the _____ of a layer to make content partially transparent.
opacity
color
effect
You use layers to perform such tasks as compositing multiple images, adding text to an image, and adding vector graphic shapes.
True
False
You can apply a layer ________ to adda special effect like Drop Shadow.
adjustment
filter
style
A new image has how many layers?
0
1
2
You work with layers in the Layers Panel.
True
False
The ______ panel list all the layers, layer groups, and layer effects in an image.
layers
filter
swatches
color
You use the Layers Panel to show and hide layers, create new layers, and work with groups of layers.
True
False
You can use _______ options to locate specific layers.
styles
filter and search
type
Filters layers for images, adjustments, type, shape layers, and smart objects
kind
name
effect
mode
use the text search field to find named layers
kind
name
effect
mode
filter by layer effect types such as Bevel & Emboss
kind
name
effect
mode
filter by layer blending modes such as Normal, Color Dodge, or Overlay
kind
name
effect
mode
filter by layer aspect such as Visible, Locked, Masks, or Effects
name
effect
attribute
color
filter by layer coloring including Red, Orange, Yellow, Green, Blue, Violet, or Gray
Color
Mode
Effect
Attribute
