2024 TCAOA Week 3 Rules Quiz

2024 TCAOA Week 3 Rules Quiz

Professional Development

6 Qs

quiz-placeholder

Similar activities

IQ Quiz

IQ Quiz

Professional Development

8 Qs

Feb 18 Off Season Football Quiz

Feb 18 Off Season Football Quiz

Professional Development

5 Qs

Legal/Illegal Interview Questions

Legal/Illegal Interview Questions

Professional Development

11 Qs

Pelepens Game KNB?

Pelepens Game KNB?

KG - Professional Development

11 Qs

Microsoft Teams quiz

Microsoft Teams quiz

Professional Development

10 Qs

Recognition

Recognition

Professional Development

7 Qs

What Makes for a Good Interview?

What Makes for a Good Interview?

Professional Development

10 Qs

Employee Contracts

Employee Contracts

Professional Development

10 Qs

2024 TCAOA Week 3 Rules Quiz

2024 TCAOA Week 3 Rules Quiz

Assessment

Quiz

Professional Development

Professional Development

Hard

Created by

Andy Wolf

Used 1+ times

FREE Resource

6 questions

Show all answers

1.

MULTIPLE CHOICE QUESTION

30 sec • 1 pt

4th and 10 from the 20, and team K is punting. At the snap K82, who is near the sideline, avoids a block by going out of bounds at the 21 yard line, taking 5 steps still out of bounds, and then returning to the field of play at the 31. K82 tackles R18 after he catches the ball at midfield.

No penalty if K82 is judged to have returned at the earliest opportunity

Illegal participation on K82. R may accept the penalty from the spot where K82 returned to the field (31 yard line) and rekick.

Illegal participation on K82. R may accept the 15 yard penalty from the previous spot and rekick OR may add the 15 yards to the succeeding spot

Illegal substitution on K82 for leaving the field and then returning. R may accept the 5 yard penalty from the previous spot OR the succeeding spot.

Answer explanation

9.6.1 No player of A or K shall go out of bounds and return unless blocked out by an opponent

10.4.2 Exception gives R the right to tack the penalty against K onto the succeeding spot

2.

MULTIPLE CHOICE QUESTION

30 sec • 1 pt

Third and 10 from the 30. Team B intercepts the ball at the 40 yard line and returns it for a touchdown. During the return, B88 comes off the sideline and enters the field at the 25 yard line and obstructs A50 who is trying to run to the ball to make a tackle.

Illegal participation on B88. Team A may accept the 15 yards from the previous spot and retain the ball.

Illegal participation on B88. The TD counts. Team A may choose to have the enforcement on the try or succeeding kickoff

Illegal participation on B88. Because of the TD, the enforcement spot is the goal line.
Team B's ball first and 10 from the 15.

Illegal participation on B88. The enforcement spot is where B88 participated (25 yard line). Team B's ball first and 10 at the 40 after the 15 yard penalty.

Answer explanation

9.6.4a it is illegal participation for any any substitute to enter and participate during the down. This is a live-ball basic spot.

10.4.4b the basic spot is the spot of the foul for illegal participation in 9.6.4a

3.

MULTIPLE CHOICE QUESTION

30 sec • 1 pt

Fourth at 10 from the 20. Both teams are running players on and off for a punt. Just after the snap, the BJ realizes team B has 12 players in the game. B18 catches the punt at midfield and returns it 20 yards to the 30.

Illegal substitution on B. Team A has the choice of penalizing the 5 yards from the previous spot or the succeeding spot

Illegal participation on Team B. Basic spot is the end of the kick, so Team B's ball at their own 35.

Illegal participation on Team B. Basic spot is the succeeding spot, so Team B's ball at the 45 yard line.

Illegal participation on Team B. Basic spot is the previous spot. Team A will get the ball back first and 10 from the 35.

Answer explanation

9.6.4c It is illegal participation to have 12 or more players participating at the snap. The penalty enforcement specifically states this is a previous spot enforcement.

4.

MULTIPLE CHOICE QUESTION

30 sec • 1 pt

First and goal from the 10. Team B is trying to make substitutions before the snap. At the snap B66, Team B's 11th player, is at the 30 yard line near his sideline trying to get into the game. Meanwhile, the play is a sweep that runs towards the sideline of team A and gains 6 yards to the 4 yard line. B66 never participated in the play.

Dead ball encroachment penalty at the snap since B66 was on the offensive side of the neutral zone.

Dead ball illegal substitution on B66 at the snap. After the 5 yard enforcement, first and goal from the 5.

Illegal substitution on B66. Basic spot is the succeeding spot. First and goal from the 2.

Illegal substitution on B66. Team A may have it enforced from the previous spot and be first and goal from the 5 OR decline and take the result of the play.

Answer explanation

3.7.5 An entering sub shall be on his side of the NZ at the snap. This is a live ball 5 yard foul.

10.4.2a this is a foul simultaneous with the snap, so the basic spot is the previous spot

5.

MULTIPLE CHOICE QUESTION

30 sec • 1 pt

First and 10 from the 20. Team A runs a sweep toward their sideline and gain 6 yards on the play. After the snap B55, who would be the 12th player for Team B, starts to run onto the field from his sideline. He never gets close to any players nor does he influence the play, but he does get out to the numbers.

No penalty on the play since B55 did not participate

Illegal substitution on B55. Basic spot for the penalty is the previous spot.

Illegal substitution on B55. Basic spot for the penalty is the spot of the foul - which is where B55 ran onto the field

Illegal substitution on B55. Basic spot for the penalty is the succeeding spot

Answer explanation

3.7.6 during a down a sub who enters the field but does not participate constitutes illegal substitution. This is a 5 yard non-player foul

10.4.5c the basic spot is the succeeding spot for a non-player foul

6.

MULTIPLE CHOICE QUESTION

30 sec • 1 pt

At the end of the first half it is first and goal at the 4 yard line with the game clock stopped because of a first down. The game clock shows 2 seconds but it will start with the Ready For Play. The R winds for the ready for play and team A takes a direct snap and immediately spikes the ball.

Either the R or the BJ will need to determine if the spike was fast enough to allow for another play.

When there are 2 or less seconds showing on the clock, only one play is possible. The immediate spike will be the only play possible and thus the half is over

Since there was more than 1 second on the game clock, team A has the ability to spike the ball and have another play

Since there is 2 seconds on the clock, Team A will not even be allowed to snap it since the ready for play will consume the clock before they can spike it.

Answer explanation

The 2023 version of the MHSAA mechanics has a great summary of these situations. If the clock is stopped, but will start on the ready, only 1 play is possible if the ball is snapped between 1 and 2 seconds. Any incomplete pass will run out the clock.