Wayground logo

Free Printable Worksheets

Font size

S
M
L
XL
Worksheets

PIB END OF TERM EXAM

Total questions: 60

Worksheet time: 1hrs 3mins

Name
Class
Date
1.

The willingness and ability to sell the products is ....

a)

demand

b)

supply

c)

sales

d)

income

2.

What is measured on the vertical axis of a demand diagram?

a)

cost

b)

wants

c)

needs

d)

price

3.

The willingness and ability to purchase goods and services is called as ....

a)

demand

b)

supply

c)

sales

d)

revenue

4.

If price of cars increase, demand of gasoline will ....

a)

increase

b)

same

c)

decrease

d)

neutral

5.

Which of the following statements is correct?

a)

buyers and sellers determine supply

b)

buyers and sellers determine demand

c)

buyers determine demand and sellers determine supply

d)

buyers determine supply and sellers determine demand

6.

How would an increase in supply be illustrated?

a)

A shift to the left of the supply curve

b)

A movement down the supply curve

c)

A shift to the right of the supply curve

d)

A movement up the supply curve

7.

A change in the size of the population.

a)

Shift in Supply

b)

Shift in Demand

8.

A change in the cost of inputs.

a)

Shift in Supply

b)

Shift in Demand

9.

A change in consumer tastes and preferences.

a)

Shift in Supply

b)

Shift in Demand

10.

A change in the price of substitute goods.

a)

Shift in Supply

b)

Shift in Demand

11.

A change in the price of complimentary goods.

a)

Shift in Supply

b)

Shift in Demand

12.

What does this curve represent?

a)

Supply

b)

Demand

c)

Equillibrium

d)

Quantity

13.

What does this curve represent?

a)

Demand

b)

Supply

c)

Equilibrium

d)

Shortage

14.
If the price of printers goes down, what happens in the market for ink cartridges?
a)
Supply increases.
b)
Supply decreases.
c)
Demand increases.
d)
Demand decreases
15.
The following is a factor that will not cause the demand curve to shift:
a)
Advertising
b)
Population
c)
Price
d)
Consumer expectations
16.

A change in quantity demanded is shown...

a)

at various points on the demand curve

b)

with a new demand curve drawn above or below the original demand curve

c)

with a vertical line

17.

what is the name of the table that lists the quantity of a good that a single person will buy at each price in a market?

a)

demand schedule

b)

market map

c)

elasticity chart

d)

supply and demand graph

18.

When the price of a good or service is high consumer demand will usually be ...

a)

High

b)

Unpredictable

c)

Low

d)

Average

19.

The point where supply and demand are balanced is?

a)

Product

b)

Demand

c)

Surplus

d)

Equilibrium

20.

The law of demand states that there is what type of relationship between price and demand?

a)

As price decreases demand decreases.

b)

As price increases demand increases.

c)

As price decreases demand remains the same.

d)

As price increases demand decreases.

21.

The law of supply states that there is what type of relationship between price and supply?

a)

As price decreases demand increases.

b)

As price increases supply decreases.

c)

As price increases supply increases.

d)

As price decreases supply remains the same.

22.

If the cost of computers falls, then…

a)

the demand for computers goes up.

b)

the supply of computers goes up.

c)

none of the choices

d)

the demand for computers goes down.

23.
The diagram represents a
a)
increase in demand
b)
decrease in demand
c)
change in quantity demand
d)
none of the above
24.

If the store has 100 packs of toilet paper and 200 people want to buy it, is it a shortage or surplus?

a)

shortage

b)

surplus

25.

If there is 50 donuts made and 40 people buy them, will there be a shortage or a surplus?

a)

shortage

b)

surplus

26.
What is the most basic problem of economics?
a)
Scarcity
b)
Allocation
c)
Productivity
d)
Specialization
27.
A popular bakery has only a few ingredients left to make their products.  They could bake muffins or cookies, but they can’t make both.  The bakers decide to make cookies for their customers.  What is the opportunity cost of their decision?
a)
muffins 
b)
cookies 
28.
Opportunity Cost is best defined as
a)
the value of the next best alternative that is given up due to the choice you made 
b)
The price you pay to purchase something 
c)
The benefit you gain by making a decision 
d)
The amount of debt you take on by making a decision 
29.
What is the production possibilities curve?
a)
a graph that shows how much an economy can produce between 2 goods
b)
how much money something is
c)
the opportunity one has to give up in order to gain something else
d)
land, labor, capital, entrepreneurs
30.
The opportunity cost of increasing production from 7 to 9 trucks is
a)
Scarcity
b)
2 boats
c)
2 trucks
d)
3 boats
31.
The diagram shows the production possibilities curve for Country Y. Which of the following statements is true?
a)
If Country Y is producing at point C, it is using all its resources efficiently
b)
The opportunity cost of producing more machines is constant
c)
Country Y cannot produce at point E
d)
The most efficient point of production is point D
32.
Improvements in technology for producing all goods must result in:
a)
An inward shift in the production possibilities curve 
b)
A flatter production possibilities curve 
c)
An outward shift in the production possibilities curve 
d)
A steeper production possibilities curve 
33.
What does point Y represent on the PPC?
a)
Efficiency
b)
Unattainable / impossible
c)
Inefficency
d)
Nothing
34.

M in SMART stands for:

a)

Modest

b)

Meaningful

c)

Money

d)

Measurable

35.

Which of the following is not a business objective?

a)

Corporate social responsibility

b)

Market share

c)

Growth

d)

Employment

36.

What is the first and most important objective of any business organisation?

a)

Profit Maximisation

b)

Growth

c)

Survival

d)

Social Responsibility

37.

Alan is a seller and works in an important Cafeteria in Bogota city giving services to the consumers for that reason Alan must work into the

a)

primary sector.

b)

secondary sector.

c)

tertiary sector

d)

mineral sectors.

38.

The correct image that represents the secondary sector because transforms the raw material into goods is

a)
b)
c)
d)
39.

Dave sells his apples crops to an apples juice factory. This factory is into the secondary sector because it involves the

a)

transformation of raw materials into goods.

b)

supplying of services to consumers.

c)

extraction of raw materials from the Earth.

d)

Import and export process.

40.

Dave is a farmer. He has some apples crops and all the days gather this product. Apples are examples of raw material because they are

a)

used to give services.

b)

extracted from the earth.

c)

important products to the Colombian economy.

d)

imported and exported.

41.

Some examples of workers in the tertiary sector of the economy are

a)

miners and farmers.

b)

lumberjack and fishers.

c)

teachers and doctors.

d)

factory workers.

42.

Gold and oil can be seen as:

a)

Land

b)

Labour

c)

Capital

d)

Entrepreneurship

43.

Identify the correct factor of production.

Skilled people working in a lawyers firm will be seen as?

a)

Land

b)

Labour

c)

Capital

d)

Entrepreneurship

44.

Identify the correct factor of production.

Individuals with great ideas and willing to take risks.

a)

Natural resources

b)

Labour

c)

Capital

d)

Entrepreneurship

45.

Identify the correct factor of production.

Machinery and factories are?

a)

Land

b)

Labour

c)

Capital

d)

Entrepreneurship

46.

What are Fixed Costs?

a)

the amount of money allocated for a business to use in certain departments

b)

business costs, such as rent, that do not vary because of the amount of goods produced

c)

costs that change depending upon the output

d)

the point in a business when the profits are equal to costs

47.

Which of the following calculations would you use to find total costs?

a)

Fixed Costs + Variable Costs

b)

Selling Price – Fixed Costs

c)

Total Fixed Costs / Selling Price – Variable Cost

d)

Total Fixed Costs/Variable Cost Per Item

48.

If there was a rise in variable costs what effect would this have on the break even chart?

a)

total cost line pivots downwards

b)

fixed cost line and total cost line move upwards in a parallel shift

c)

total cost line pivots upwards

d)

revenue line pivots upwards

49.

If there was a fall in fixed costs what impact would this have on the break-even output?

a)

revenue would increase and tilt the SR line upwards

b)

break-even is achieved at a lower level of output

c)

greater output necessary to break-even

d)

break-even is reached at a higher level of output

50.

On a break-even chart, what line does the total revenue line meet at the break-even point?

a)

The fixed cost line

b)

The variable cost line

c)

The total cost line

d)

Semi variable cost line

51.

If average variable cost is £10, and average selling price is £25, then what is contribution?

a)

£35

b)

£15

c)

£-15

d)

£40

52.

If the average variable costs £10, average selling price is £25 and fixed costs are £60,000, then what is the break-even output?

a)

5000

b)

7000

c)

6000

d)

4000

53.

What is a business doing when it sells output beyond the break-even point?

a)

Making a loss

b)

Making a profit

c)

Making neither a profit or loss

d)

It is not possible to tell from the graph

54.

What is the break-even point in units for company where total fixed costs are £275,450

selling price per units £16

variable cost per unit is £14.75

a)

220,360

b)

183,633

c)

150,300

d)

225,120

55.

What is the margin of safety?

a)

The difference between units sold and the break-even amount

b)

The margin between units and sales

c)

The margin between each break-even point

d)

The margin between profit and loss

56.

The break even level of output for a firm is 800 units and it is currently making 950 units. What is its margin of safety?

a)

150 units

b)

250 units

c)

300 units

d)

1750 units

57.

Two of these formulas are correct for working out the break-even point. Which two

a)

Fixed Costs / Contribution

b)

Total Costs - Fixed Costs x variable costs per unit

c)

Fixed Costs / Variable cost

d)

Contribution Margin per unit / Fixed Costs

58.

What is an example of a fixed cost?

a)

Rent

b)

Packaging

c)

Raw Materials

d)

Wages

59.

Anna runs a photography business. She has the following costs

Fixed costs = £30,000

Variable cost = £200 per photo shoot

Selling price: = £1000 per photo shoot

She predicts sales of 140 photo shoots for the year

What is the Total Contribution?

a)

£112 000

b)

£112 500

c)

£375

d)

£800

60.

We are going to manufacture Whats-Its. The Whats-It machine costs £4000.It also costs £5 for materials and labour for each Whats-It. We are planning to sell our Whats-Its for £12 each. How many Whats-Its must we sell in order to breakeven?

Make sure your breakeven figure is a round number.

a)

571.42

b)

572

c)

570. 63

d)

571