Wayground logo

Free Printable Worksheets

Font size

S
M
L
XL
Worksheets

Business finance

Total questions: 64

Worksheet time: 53mins

Name
Class
Date
1.
What is the definition of Revenue?
a)
Income from the sales of goods and services
b)
Income from the cost of goods and services 
c)
The money made on products
d)
Cash coming into the business
2.
What is the definition of expenses?
a)
The money from selling goods and services
b)
Cash you are spending in the business
c)
Costs of running the business
d)
The outgoings relating specifically to vehicles
3.
What is the definition of Profit?
a)
The income derived from profitable ventures
b)
Cash left over at the end of trade
c)
The money you make
d)
The surplus of revenue over costs
4.
What is the formula for Revenue?
a)
Output x Selling Price
b)
Output x Cost
c)
Selling Price x Costs
d)
Selling Price x Total sales
5.
What is the formula for Profit?
a)
Revenue - Sales
b)
Revenue - Costs
c)
Revenue - Fixed Costs
d)
Revenue - Gross Profit
6.
What is the definition of a fixed cost?
a)
A cost that varies with output
b)
A cost that does not vary with output
c)
Costs that do not change
d)
Costs that change only when agreed
7.
What is the definition of a variable cost?
a)
Costs that vary with output
b)
Costs that do not vary with output
c)
Costs that are always changing
d)
Costs that cannot change
8.
What is the formula for Gross Profit?
a)
Revenue - Expenses
b)
Revenue + Cost of Sales
c)
Revenue - Cost of Sales
d)
Cost of Sales + Revenue
9.
What is the formula for Gross Profit Margin?
a)
Revenue - Cost of Sales
b)
Gross Profit / Revenue
c)
Net Profit / Revenue
d)
Gross Profit x Revenue
10.
What is the formula for Net Profit?
a)
Revenue - Total Costs
b)
Revenue - Cost of Sales
c)
Cost of Sales - Total Costs
d)
Fixed costs + Variable Costs
11.
What is the formula for Net Profit Margin?
a)
Revenue / Net Profit
b)
Net Profit / Revenue
c)
Net Profit x Revenue
d)
Revenue - Total Costs
12.

Cost price is...

a)

how much you pay for something.

b)

how much you sell something for.

13.

Selling price is...

a)

how much you pay for something.

b)

how much you sell something for.

14.

Cost of sales are...

a)

The cost of producing a product, otherwise called direct costs

b)

Other costs that are not related to producing the product, otherwise known as indirect costs

c)

Cost that do not change with output

d)

Running costs

15.

Expenses are...

a)

The cost of producing a product, otherwise called direct costs

b)

Other costs that are not related to producing the product, otherwise known as indirect costs

c)

Cost that do not change with output

d)

Running costs

16.

Expenses can be referred to as 'Overheads'.

a)

True

b)

False

17.

Which of the following formula is correct for working out net profit?

a)

= price x units (output or Sales)

b)

= revenue – cost of sales

c)

= gross profit - expenditure

d)

= Fixed costs + variable costs

18.

Which of the following formula is correct for working out gross profit?

a)

= price x units (output or Sales)

b)

= revenue – cost of sales

c)

= gross profit - expenditure

d)

= Fixed costs + variable costs

19.

Which of the following formula is correct for working out sales revenue?

a)

= price x units (output or Sales)

b)

= revenue – cost of sales

c)

= gross profit - expenditure

d)

= Fixed costs + variable costs

20.

Which three lines of the profit and loss account would make up the trading account?

a)

Sales Revenue, Cost of Sales and Gross Profit

b)

Sales Revenue, Expenses and Gross Profit

c)

Sales Revenue, Cost of Sales and Net Profit

d)

Net Profit, Cost of Sales and Gross Profit

21.

Using this profit and loss account, complete the answer for Gross Profit.

a)

£11,000

b)

£10,000

c)

£30,000

d)

£35,000

22.

Profit and Loss is a planning tool.

a)

True

b)

False

23.

If gross profit was negative, which of the following may be a good ideas?

a)

Increase Marketing

b)

reduce fuel bills

c)

pay cheaper wages

d)

find cheaper materials

24.

If net profit is negative then which of the following may be good ideas?

a)

Increase gross profit

b)

reduce expenses

c)

reduce sales revenue

d)

increase rent

25.

Why would a shareholder be interested in a profit and loss account?

a)

Because they get paid a dividend out of the profits the company makes

b)

It would show them how ethical the business is

c)

It would tell them when the business would breakeven

d)

It would show how much tax they paid

26.

Why would the Government be interested in a profit and loss account?

a)

Because they get paid a dividend out of the profits the company makes

b)

It would show them how ethical the business is

c)

It would tell them when the business would breakeven

d)

It would show how much tax they paid/need to apy

27.

The table below gives information about two different products sold by a business. Based on this information, which one of the following is the correct sales price per unit for product B?

a)

£2.50

b)

£1.25

c)

£0.80

d)

£0.40

28.

A break even diagram for Business X is shown below. Based on this information, which one of the following is the correct value of its fixed costs at 3,000 units?

a)

£20,000

b)

£40,000

c)

£50,000

d)

£90,000

29.

Using the break even diagram shown in question 3, if Business X’s actual sales were 3,000 units, which one of the following would be its correct margin of safety?

a)

0 units

b)

1,000 units

c)

2,000 units

d)

3,000 units

30.

A business has an agreed overdraft limit of £10,000, which it has used 75% of, on average, throughout the year. The interest rate on the overdraft facility is 15% per annum. Which one of the following represents the amount of interest the business paid this year on its overdraft?

a)

£1,125

b)

£1,500

c)

£7,500

d)

£8,625

31.

The graph below shows the number of customers that visited a hairdressing business during one trading week. The average sales price per customer is £30. Based on this information, the business’s average daily trading revenue to the nearest £ is:

a)

£43

b)

£909

c)

£1,272

d)

£6,360

32.

Last year, a business made £300,000 profit from sales revenue of £750,000. Its total variable costs equalled £125,000. The value of the business’s fixed costs was:

a)

£175,000

b)

£325,000

c)

£450,000

d)

£625,000

33.

If the business in question 7 sold 100,000 units during the year, its variable cost per unit equalled:

a)

£0.80

b)

£1.25

c)

£3.00

d)

£7.50

34.

A business takes out a bank loan of £15,000. The loan will be repaid over 3 years, with a monthly repayment of £500. The total interest the business will pay for this loan is:

a)

£1,500

b)

£3,000

c)

£15,500

d)

£8,000

35.

A small business has fixed costs of £24,000 and an average sales price per unit of £9. If the variable cost per unit is 1/3 of the sales price per unit, which of the following is the business’s break even point in units?

a)

2,000 units

b)

2,667 units

c)

4,000 units

d)

8,000 units

36.

The small business, in question 10, expects that its fixed costs will increase by 25% next year. To overcome this change, the business plans to increase its sales price per unit by 100%. Its variable cost per unit is expected to remain as 1/3 of the sales price per unit. Which one of the following is the business’s break even point in costs/revenue?

a)

£30,000

b)

£36,000

c)

£45,000

d)

£90,000

37.

Which two of the following statements best describe the term break even? Select two answers:The point where:

a)

The business is just making a profit

b)

Total revenue and total fixed costs are the same

c)

The business is making neither a profit or loss

d)

Total costs are higher than total revenue

e)

Total revenue and total costs are equal

38.

In which two of the following situations would a business be in a loss making situation? Select two answers: Where:

a)

Total revenue is greater than the sum of total fixed costs and total variable costs

b)

Total revenue is less than total variable costs and total fixed costs

c)

Total fixed costs and total variable costs are lower than total revenue

d)

Total costs are less than total revenue

e)

Total costs are higher than total revenue

39.
If you own a home, you must pay for electricity you use.  The amount you pay changes every month depending on how much you use. This is an example of a...
a)
FIXED cost.
b)
VARIABLE cost.
40.
Your business rents a building on Main Street in Dewsbury.  Every month you pay exactly £750 to rent the building.  This is an example of a...
a)
FIXED cost.
b)
VARIABLE cost.
41.
You own a restaurant and every month you must pay your water bill. However, you never know how much that bill will be because the amount changes based upon how much water your business uses.  This is a...
a)
FIXED cost.
b)
VARIABLE cost.
42.
Eric wants to start being an Uber driver taking passengers from Leeds airport to the city centre.Eric knows that he can make £30 per Uber ride he gives. Eric owns his own car, so his only expense is to pay £5 in petrol for every ride he gives.  Eric gives 15 rides this week, his COSTS for the week will be...
a)
£30
b)
£75
c)
£375
d)
£450
43.
A firm sells 10 units at £5 each. Its total costs are £30. How much profit is made?
a)
A £50 profit is made
b)
A £20 profit is made
c)
A £20 loss is made
44.
Number of Products produced / sold is also referred to as...
a)
Output
b)
Revenue
c)
Costs
d)
items
45.
Total Costs are calculated by...
a)
Fixed Costs + Variable Costs
b)
Costs - Revenue
c)
Revenue - Costs
d)
Fixed Costs + Variable Costs - Revenue
46.
Raw materials such as wool is an example of
a)
Variable Costs
b)
Fixed Costs
47.
Management salaries are an example of
a)
Fixed costs
b)
Variable costs
48.
What is the margin of safety?
a)
the margin between projected units and break even point units
b)
the margin between profit and loss
c)
the margin between units and sales
d)
the margin between each break even point
49.
My total costs are £50,000 when selling 100 items. My fixed costs are £20,000. What must be the variable cost of one item? 
a)
£300
b)
£500
c)
£200
d)
Cannot be calculated
50.
Businesses calculate break-even in units so they know
a)
how much profit they will earn after they break even
b)
which products they should purchase for resale
c)
which costs are variable and which are fixed
d)
how many products they must sell to break even
51.
The standard rate of VAT in this country is...
a)
15%
b)
20%
c)
17.5%
d)
25%
52.
To draw the BE graph you must plot Total Costs and ........
a)
Total Production
b)
Total Revenue
c)
Total Fixed Costs
d)
Total Units
53.

What is the break-even point in units for a company whose total fixed costs are £275,450; selling price per unit is £16; and variable cost per unit is £14.75?

a)

220,360

b)

150,300

c)

183,633

d)

225,120

54.

We are going to manufacture Whats-Its. The Whats-It machine costs £4000.It also costs £5 for materials and labour for each Whats-It. We are planning to sell our Whats-Its for £12 each. How many Whats-Its must we sell in order to breakeven?

a)

571.42

b)

572

c)

570. 63

d)

571

55.

What is the break-even point in units for a company whose total fixed costs are £275,450; selling price per unit is £16; and variable cost per unit is £14.75?

a)

220,360

b)

150,300

c)

183,633

d)

225,120

56.

Fixed costs: = £30,000

Variable cost: = £200 per photo shoot

Forecast output (Sales): = 140 photo shoots

Selling price: = £1000 per photo shoot


What is the Total Contribution?

a)

£112 000

b)

£112 500

c)

£375

d)

£800

57.

Simon has worked out the following figures for new Bobble Hats he is going to sell. He estimates that he can produce 20 000 hats a month with a selling price of £3.50. He expects the machinery costs to be £60 000 per annum, staff salaries are £72 000 per annum and raw materials cost £30 000 per month.


What is the margin of safety?

a)

66 000

b)

74 000

c)

200 000

d)

174 000

58.

Baljeevans Burgers has sales of 250 units, a sales revenue of £26 500, total variable costs of £12 340 and total fixed costs of £4 600 (all annual figures).


Calculate the Total Contribution

a)

£56.64

b)

£14 160

c)

£14 410

d)

£566.40

59.

Baljeevans Burgers has sales of 250 units, a sales revenue of £26 500, total variable costs of £12 340 and total fixed costs of £4 600 (all annual figures).


Calculate the Contribution per unit

a)

£56.64

b)

£14 160

c)

£14 410

d)

£566.40

60.

Baljeevans Burgers has sales of 250 units, a sales revenue of £26 500, total variable costs of £12 340 and total fixed costs of £4 600 (all annual figures).


Calculate the Profit or Loss

a)

£9 560

b)

£95 600

c)

£662 5000

d)

£660 8060

61.

Calculate the total contribution from the first 100 customers

a)

£65

b)

£650

c)

£6 500

d)

£65 000

62.

Calculate the Break Even Quantity

a)

65

b)

650

c)

365

d)

3 650

63.

Calculate the expected profit from the first year of trading, based on the assumption that it will attract 450 customers.

a)

£552

b)

£55 250

c)

£5 525

d)

£37 225

e)

£29 250

64.

Fixed Costs £42 525

Variable Costs £3 per Item

Forecast Output (Sales) 11 262

Sales Revenue £135 144


What is the Break Even?

a)

4725

b)

12

c)

5000

d)

None of these